The roof of the (Lady Chapel) is panelled, and the panels were
painted about 1390. The ensemble is unique in England and artistically
very valuable. It consists of canted sides painted with figures and a
flat top part painted with delightfully traceried interlocked lozenges.
The figures are set in narrow cusped panels and each pair under an ogee
arch with panelled spandrels. At the foot, disregarding the panels, runs
a vine trail. This motif reveals the whole as having been a Tree of
tree of Jesus).
Prophets and Kings alternate, but at the E end of the N side is
Christ crucified framed by the Annunciation.
Jesse himself and the other earliest figures were at the W end of the S
side and are not preserved.
An inscription runs all along the cornice of the canted parts and tells
us that the chapel was built by William Reve, and the roof repaired by
William Cholsey, and that Boniface IX offered an indulgence to those
helping in the repair. Reve belongs to the second half of the C13, but
Boniface IX ruled from 1389 to 1404, and the indulgence dates from 1391.
The style of the figures is typical of this date and may be compared
with panels from screens in East Anglia or the Despenser Retable in